Food in Film

Jiro Dreams of Sushi – Inspiration for life

The docu-film Jiro Dreams of Sushi blows my mind. Each time I watch it, I am lifted.

Jiro title

This film captures for me, everything that is important about art; it has its own philosophy and that philosophy is defended unquestionably to the end.

jiro_the_secret_of_successJiro’s and his family’s story demonstrates the value of forever-learning; to look only forward and not back, in order to fulfil ones’ potential. With sacrifice and success presented as bedfellows, Jiro inspires me to focus, to always strive to better at what I do, and to never stop dreaming.

Jiro-Dreams-Of-Sushi-02

Jiro is 85 years old, and runs a 10 seat restaurant in an underground station in Tokyo. He holds 3 michelin stars and is the oldest person to do so. He still works every day and hates to take holiday.

fall_in_love_with_your_work

Directed by David Gelb – Thank you for bringing this into the world.

Write what you think